top of page

A Letter to My Daughter on Choosing Friends

Emeline,

As I sit down to write this, I keep thinking about all the things that need to be done right now. The responsible things. And yet, here I am. Why you ask? Because I have something important to say. Listen up.

As I look back at the moment when I met my grade school friends, one of the things that stood out were their warm smiles and kind spirits. I had just moved to a new town at a very vulnerable age and God knew I needed them. We started attending a new church where I just so happened to make a connection-a friend, Elyssa. She was the Pastor's daughter. Who knew I would soon be a Pastor's daughter too? Who knew the moments I needed her most were still ahead? She befriended me & took me in. Her other close friend, Kayla, who's family also went to church with us did the same. Both of them. They invited me to slumber parties. They braided my hair. We talked about boys. We played runaway slaves (idk-we were weird). It was a match made in friend Heaven. God knew what He was up to.

As the years went by and we got older, change happened. High school came. The Pastor's daughter, Elyssa, moved. Different friendships formed but the existing ones stayed strong. I grew closer to Kayla and we just clicked. We supported each other during a difficult time. We took road trips to see Elyssa. We would call and talk on the phone until all hours of the night. We stayed close but had some bumpiness along the way. We grew apart for a time and had our disagreements. After we made amends, we picked right back up where we left off. Elyssa eventually moved from within driving distance & we stayed in contact over the phone. There may have been (and still is) miles between us, but we make time to check on each other. Not every day or even every month. Sometimes it is just a text. Other times, its just a gif. When we get back together, it is like nothing has changed. We are still those girls in their flower power pajamas staying up all night. We go back to simpler times where the most we had to worry about was getting home by curfew (and let me tell you-that didn't always happen). These are the girls that always encouraged and strengthened me in my walk with The Lord, would steer me in the right direction and tell me to listen to my parents even when it was the last thing I wanted to do. We were treated as family when at each others houses. Expected to do chores. We lived at the others house when school was out. These girls were instrumental in my walk with God. They stayed close when I wasn't so fun to be around. Through my insecurities. Through my heartbreaks. Through my sin. Through my obnoxious habits. They were the real deal.

When it came to big life things, I had them by my side. We stood by each other in all of our weddings. We stood by and cheered each other on into motherhood. And even now, we know that when we need to be picked up, no matter what it is, we can call.

I knew that I valued these girls, but it wasn't until a recent vacation with them that I took in the beauty of our long-lasting friendship. The journey we have been on together, even though each of our roads went different directions. Ironically, each of us is still involved in the church and ministry in some way. That first night together recently that we were reunited was magic. Catching each other up. Laughing. Crying. Being able to be ourselves fully. Effortlessly authentic. Thinking about how life looks so different than what we thought, yet so much richer. I got to see the growth that each of these beautiful creatures have made. Hear about the fantastic spouses they chose to do life with. The amazing children they each have.

As for friends, pick the ones that forgive easily. The ones that understand that life happens and there are no guilt trips or anger in not calling back right away. The ones who you never question where you stand with them. The ones who cry with you when you are struggling. The ones who give you a good kick if you need it. The ones who don't tiptoe around you, they speak truth in love. Find the ones who blow fire on your passions. The ones who show up. The ones who do what they say, not the ones who say what they do. The ones who tell you when you need to change a bad outfit. The ones who encourage you to draw closer to your spouse during the trying times in your marriage. Find the ones who challenge you to dig deeper with Jesus. Find the ones who love your kids like their own.

Those girls. Those are your people. I am so thankful to have met them, and my prayer, sweet girl, is that you meet some too.

XOXO,

Mom

(From left) Kayla, Shelli, Elyssa

Pictured (from left) Kayla, Shelli, Elyssa


bottom of page